Carolina Law Announces Annual Faculty Awards

April 29, 2024

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Friday, April 26, 2024.

The awards presented include:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Kathleen Thomas, Aubrey L. Brooks Distinguished Professor of Law and Director of the UNC School of Law Tax Institute. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Leigh Osofsky, William D. Spry III Distinguished Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the Carolina Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled “Lynching and the Law.” This award honors a faculty member’s distinguished law journal article. Osofsky was recognized for her article, co-authored with Joshua D. Blank, Automated Agencies, 107 Minnesota Law Review 2115 (2023).

The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to William P. Marshall, William Rand Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually based on service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.