Academic Calendars

Summer 2021

May 17, Mon. Externship Orientation
Classes begin
May 18, Tues. Externships Begin
May 31, Mon. Memorial Day Holiday – no classes
June 22, Tues. Classes End
June 23, Wed. Reading Day
June 24-25, Thurs. & Fri. Exams
June 25, Fri. Externships End
July 6, Tues. Grades Due

Fall 2021

Mon. -Fri., Aug. 16-20Orientation (1Ls and Transfer Students)
Thurs. -Sun., Aug. 19-22Trial Advocacy Intense Session
Mon., Aug. 23Classes Begin
Fri., Sept. 3Last day to drop/add a class
Mon., Sept. 6Labor Day Holiday – no classes
Thurs., Sept. 23 (last lecture)
Week of Oct. 11 (TBA)
Trial Ad Lectures end/Classes End
Trials TBA
Fri., Oct. 81L Practice Exams
Tues., Oct. 12
University Day (no classes from 1:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.)
Thurs. – Fri., Oct. 21-22Fall Break – no classes
Tues., Nov. 23 MAGIC Day (Thurs. classes meet)
Wed., Nov. 24 Classes End/MAGIC Day (Fri. classes meet)
Thurs. – Fri., Nov. 25-26Thanksgiving Recess – no classes
Mon., Nov. 29Reading Day
Tues., Nov. 30Examinations Begin
Fri., Dec. 10Examinations End
Sun., Dec. 12Commencement
1L,Tues., Jan. 11, 2022
2L & 3L, Tues., Jan.18, 2022
Grades Due

Spring 2022

Jan. 5-9, Wed.-Sun.AALS Annual Meeting
Jan 2-4, Sun.-Tues. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
Jan 5, Wed. All classes begin/MAGIC DAY Monday classes meet
Jan 17, Mon. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday – no classes
Jan 19, Wed.Last day to drop/add a class
Feb 3, Thurs.
Week of Feb. 14 (TBA)
Trial Advocacy Lectures End/Classes End
Trials (TBA)
Feb. 21, Mon.Wellness Day – no classes
March 14-18, Mon.-Fri. Spring Break
March 21, Mon. Classes resume
April 13, Wed.Last day of classes
April 14, Thurs. Wellness Day – no classes
April 15, Fri. Spring Holiday – no classes
April 18, Mon. Reading Day (Inclement weather make-up day if needed)
April 19, Tues.Examinations begin
April 29, Fri. Examinations end
May 7, Sat. Law School Commencement
May 8, Sun. University Commencement
May 31, Tues.Grades Due

Summer 2022

May 9, Mon. Externship Orientation
Classes begin
May 10, Tues. Externships Begin
May 30, Mon. Memorial Day Holiday – no classes
June 14, Tues. Classes End
June 15, Wed. Reading Day
June 16-17, Thurs. & Fri. Exams
June 17, Fri. Externships End
July 5, Tues. Grades Due

Fall 2022

Mon. -Fri., Aug. 15-19Orientation (1Ls and Transfer Students)
TBDTrial Advocacy Special Sessions
Mon., Aug. 22Classes Begin
Mon., Sept. 5Labor Day Holiday – no classes
Mon., Sept. 26Well-being Day 1 & Rosh Hashanah – no classes
TBD
Trial Advocacy Ends
Trials
Wed., Oct. 12University Day (some classes canceled)
Fri., Oct. 14
1L Practice Exams
Thurs. – Fri., Oct. 20-21Fall Break – no classes
Fri., Nov. 11Well-being Day 2 (law-specific) & Veterans Day – no classes
Tues., Nov. 22 MAGIC Day (Thurs. classes meet)
Wed., Nov. 23 MAGIC Day (Fri. classes meet)
Thurs. – Fri., Nov. 24-25Thanksgiving Recess – no classes
Tues., Nov. 29Classes End/MAGIC Day (Fri. classes meet)
Wed., Nov. 30Reading/Makeup Day
Thurs., Dec. 1Examinations Begin
Wed., Dec. 14Examinations End
Sun., Dec. 11Commencement
1L,Tues., Jan. 10, 2023
2L & 3L, Tues., Jan.17, 2022
Grades Due

Spring 2023

Jan. 4-7AALS Annual Meeting
Jan. 4-7 Trial Advocacy Sessions
Jan. 9, Mon. Classes begin
Jan. 16, Mon. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday – no classes
Feb. 13-14, Mon.-Tues.Well-being Days 1 & 2 (UNC-wide) – no classes
TBDTrial Advocacy Lectures End
Feb. 15, Wed.MAGIC Day (Monday classes meet)
March 13-17, Mon.-Fri. Spring Break
April 6, Thurs.Well-being Day 3 (UNC-wide) – no classes
April 7, Fri.Spring Holiday
April 21, Fri.Last day of classes
April 24, Mon. Reading Day (Inclement weather make-up day if needed)
April 25, Tues.Examinations begin
May 5, Fri. Examinations end
May 13, Sat. Law School Commencement
May 31, Wed.Grades Due