UNC School of Law Announces Newly Elected Board Members and Officers of UNC Law Foundation, Law Alumni Association

August 9, 2021

The nine new alumni leaders began their terms this summer.

The UNC Law Foundation and UNC Law Alumni Association at UNC School of Law have elected nine new alumni volunteers to serve on their respective boards and elected new alumni leadership as officers.

The UNC Law Foundation supports teaching, research, and service at UNC School of Law as a charitable foundation organized exclusively for the benefit of the school. It encourages the establishment of endowment funds for professorships, fellowships, scholarships, academic programs, and other priority funding areas at Carolina Law. The four new members of the UNC Law Foundation Board, listed below, began their terms on July 1.

Members: Angela M. Liu ’09, partner at Dechert LLP in Chicago, IL; Jennifer Puryear ’95, community volunteer and writer in Nashville, TN

Members elected to 2nd term: Richard L. Farley ’87, partner at Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP in Charlotte, NC; Angela Marie Xenakis ’03, partner at Sidley Austin, LLP in Washington, DC

The UNC Law Foundation Board also elected new officers to lead the foundation. Charles T. Plambeck ’86, managing director at Citigroup in New York, NY, was elected as president and chair, and Wilson L. White ’06, senior director government affairs and public policy at Google in Mountain View, CA, was elected as vice president. Angie Xenakis ’03 was elected to chair the Audit Committee, and Scott Peeler ’97, partner at Arent Fox in New York, NY, continues as Nominations Committee Chair.

Upon graduation, all alumni of UNC School of Law become members of the UNC Law Alumni Association. The alumni association is governed by a volunteer board and is dedicated to advancing the school and its alumni as leaders in law and connects members through social, educational, and professional activities. The alumni association is a committee within the UNC Law Foundation.

The five new members of the UNC Law Alumni Association Board are listed below. The members began their terms July 1.

Members: Rebecca S. Henderson ’85, partner at BlueWater Dispute Resolution Group and senior associate at Cambria Consulting in Cornelius, NC; Ken C. Joseph ’96, Global Leader Disputers consultant for Duff & Phelps, LLC in Brooklyn, NY; Stephen “Steve” E. Lewis ’91, CEO and chair at Troutman Pepper in Atlanta, GA; Reginald “Reggie” T. Shuford ’91, executive director, ACLU of PA in Philadelphia

Members elected to 2nd term: Honorable Carl R. Fox ’78, retired, senior resident superior court judge of North Carolina Court System in Chapel Hill, NC

Newly elected officers of the Law Alumni Association are James “Jim” M. Deal ’74, partner at Deal Moseley & Smith, LLP in Boone, NC, president and ex-officio to the UNC Law Foundation Board, and Brian D. Meacham ’03, attorney for Smith Anderson in Raleigh, NC, vice president. Deal and Meacham were elected to one-year terms which began July 1.