News Archive - April 2019


UNC School of Law congratulates 39 first-year law students who received a Eugene Gressman & Daniel H. Pollitt Oral Advocacy Award on April 16. The annual awards, given by faculty of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, recognize outstanding oral advocacy in the first-year Research, Reasoning, Writing, and Advocacy (RRWA) Program. This year marked the


Recent UNC School of Law graduates who passed the North Carolina bar exam in February now have the flexibility to use their exam score to transfer to other jurisdictions. North Carolina administered the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) for the first time in February 2019, and Carolina Law had the highest-ranking bar passage rate among North


Awarded by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors, the honor recognizes the extraordinary contributions of faculty members. This article was originally published on article was originally published on Donald Hornstein, Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of Law, is one of 17 faculty members in the UNC System to receive the 2019 Awards for Excellence


The board of the UNC School of Law Pro Bono Program awarded the 2019 recipients of the Pro Bono Publico Awards at the annual Pro Bono Celebration Thursday, April 11. Graduating students with more than 75 pro bono hours were recognized, as well as the Christian Legal Society, which received UNC-Chapel Hill’s Robert E. Bryan Public Service


Winston B. Crisp ’92, UNC-Chapel Hill’s recently retired vice chancellor for student affairs, will deliver the UNC School of Law Commencement address on May 11, 2019. Crisp was selected by the Student Bar Association (SBA) to address this year’s graduating class. UNC School of Law Dean Martin H. Brinkley ’92 will preside during the ceremony.  


Elliot Clark-Farnell 3L received the annual Clinical Legal Education Association (CLEA) Outstanding Student Award in April for his work in the Youth Justice Clinic during the 2018-19 school year. CLEA is the primary national organization dedicated to clinical education in law schools across the country, and the award honors one student or student team at

2020 Archives