Carolina Law Announces Annual Faculty Awards

April 29, 2022
Left to right: Professor Andrew Hessick, Dean Martin H. Brinkley, and Professor Holning Lau.
Erika Wilson
Professor Erika Wilson

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Thursday, April 28, 2022.

The awards presented include:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Holning Lau, Willie Person Mangum Distinguished Professor of Law. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Erika Wilson, Professor of Law, Wade Edwards Distinguished Scholar and Thomas Willis Lambeth Distinguished Chair in Public Policy. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the Carolina Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled “Lynching and the Law.” This award honors a faculty member’s distinguished law journal article. Wilson was recognized for her article,  Monopolizing Whiteness, 134 HARV. L. REV. 2382 (2021).

The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to Andrew Hessick, Judge John J. Parker Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually based on service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.