Erica Bluford ’21 Earns Scholarships for Leadership

October 31, 2019

Bluford wins the Winston Crisp Award for Student Leadership and the NC Association of Women Attorneys Sarah Parker Scholarship.

Erica Bluford

Erica R. Bluford, a dual degree student who will graduate in 2021 with her JD and master’s degree from the UNC School of Social Work, was recognized in October with two notable awards. Bluford is the 2019 recipient of UNC School of Law’s Winston Crisp ’92 Award for Student Leadership, nominated by her peers and selected for outstanding coordination of student projects, effective decision-making skills and exceptional willingness to assist fellow members of the law school community. During Bluford’s time at Carolina Law, she has exhibited extraordinary leadership qualities as president of the Black Law Students Association (BLSA), a member of the Broun National Trial Team, Holderness Moot Court, vice president for the National Lawyers Guild and a Dean’s Fellow. The award, established in honor of Winston Crisp ’92, includes a $1,600 prize.

“As president of BLSA, Erica’s focus was promoting inclusion, building community and increasing the visibility for students of color at UNC School of Law,” says Lakethia Jefferies, director of student services at UNC School of Law. “Additionally, Erica worked to foster an inclusive and engaging environment for all students as a Dean’s Fellow mentor, encouraging students not to fall into the trap of comparison but to celebrate their individual law school journey.”

Bluford also received the Sarah Parker Scholarship from the North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys, which recognizes female student leaders active in their law schools and communities. Recipients are students who best exemplify, in their approach to the study and future practice of law, the incorporation of NCAWA’s goals of assuring the effective participation of women in the justice system and in public office, promoting the rights of women under the law and promoting and improving the administration of justice. The award, named in honor of retired Chief Justice Sarah Parker ’69 of the Supreme Court of North Carolina, is for $2,000.

Erica Bluford, left, receives the Winston Crisp ’92 Award for Student Leadership from Lakethia Jefferies.