School Announces Annual Faculty Awards

May 13, 2020
Lissa Broome, Kathleen Thomas, Mary-Rose Papandrea
From left: Lissa Broome, Kathleen Thomas, Mary-Rose Papandrea

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Tuesday, May 12, in an online ceremony.

The awards presented include:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Lissa Broome, Burton Craige Distinguished Professor and Director of the Center for Banking and Finance. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Kathleen Thomas, George R. Ward Term Professor of Law, Director of UNC School of Law Tax Institute, and Associate Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the Carolina Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled “Lynching and the Law.” This award honors a faculty member’s distinguished law journal article. Thomas was recognized for her article “The Modern Case for Withholding” (53 U.C. DAVIS L. REV. 81).

The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to Mary-Rose Papandrea, Samuel Ashe Distinguished Professor of Constitutional Law and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. This award is conferred annually based on service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.